State of California
Office of Administrative Law

In re: NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY
Commission on Peace Officer Standards and ACTION

Training

Regulatory Action: Government Code Section 11349.3

Title 11, California Code of Regulations
OAL Matter Number: 2019-0726-02
Amend section: 1005

OAL Matter Type: Regular Resubmittal (SR)

In this resubmittal of OAL Matter No. 2018-0920-01S, the Commission on Peace Officer
Standards and Training is amending requirements for obtaining an exemption from the
Regular Basic Course or Specialized Investigator Basic Course training requirements.
The proposed changes include (1) increasing the Basic Course Waiver ("BCW")
Application evaluation fee from $75.00 to $250.00; (2) making the BCW Application
evaluation fee non-refundable; (3) allowing the BCW Application evaluation fee to be
submitted via electronic payment; (4) updating the Prior General Law Enforcement
Basic Course Training Requirements; and (5) increasing the number of hours of
instruction for the "Peoples with Disabilities" course from four to 15 hours.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government
Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 1/1/2020.
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APPROVED TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION

§ 1005. Minimum Standards for Training (Refer to Regulation 1007 and PAM Section H
for reserve peace officer training standards).

(a) Minimum Entry-Level Training Standards (Required)
(1) Basic Course Requirement

Every peace officer, except Reserve Levels Il and lll, those peace officers listed in subsections 1005(a)(3)
[peace officers whose primary duties are investigative], 1005(a)(4) [coroners or deputy coroners], and
1005(a)(7) [jail deputies], shall complete the Regular Basic Course before being assigned duties which
include the exercise of peace officer powers. Requirements for the Regular Basic Course are set forth in
PAM Section D-1-3.

(C) Basic Course Waiver
A Basic Course Waiver (BCW) provides an exemption from the Regular Basic Course RBC) or
Specialized Investigator Basic Course (SIBC) training requirements and is granted to individuals from
another state, with no prior California law enforcement experience, whose law enforcement training,
experience and education are deemed by POST to demonstrate sufficient law enforcement
knowledge, skill and proficiency. The prescribed course of training appropriate to the individual's
appointment is determined by the Commission and is specified in sections 1005(a) or 1007(a). The
requirements for the RBC and SIBC are specified in POST Administrative Manual (PAM) Section D-1.

Acceptance of the BCW in lieu of successful completion of a RBC or SIBC is at the discretion of the
employing agency. The BCW does not determine an individual's employability, nor is it a means of
requalifying training. Individuals with prior California law enforcement experience are not eligible for
the BCW and must complete requalification as defined in Regulation 1008.

A BCW is valid for three years from the date it is granted. After three years, the requirements for
requalification or attendance in a RBC or SIBC attach, as specified in Regulation 1008. Individuals
may not apply for a second BCW.

A waiver of attendance for the RBC will satisfy attendance at SIBC. However, a waiver of attendance
for SIBC training does not satisfy the RBC training requirement.

1. Eligibility
a. Regular Basic Course Waiver

To be eligible for a waiver of the RBC, an individual must meet the following training, education
and experience requirements:

i. Successful completion of a 200 hour minimum basic general law enforcement training course
certified or approved by California POST or a similar standards agency of another state, or a federal
agency general law enforcement basic course, and
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ii. At least 664 hours of general law enforcement training, which includes the basic course
requirement listed in Regulation 1005(a)(1)(A) and

iii. Legislatively mandated training included in the POST-certified RBC, and

iv. At least one year of out-of-state general law enforcement experience as defined in Regulation
1001. Experience must have been acquired subsequent to the completion of basic training.

b. Specialized Investigators' Basic Course (SIBC) Waiver

To be eligible for a waiver of the SIBC, an individual must meet the following training,
education and experience requirements:
i. Successful completion of a basic investigative course similar in content to the SIBC,
certified or approved by California POST or a similar standards agency of another state, or
a federal agency general or investigative basic course.

ii. At least 591 hours of investigative or general law enforcement training, which includes the
basic course requirement listed in Regulation 1005(a)(1)(a), and

iii. Legislatively mandated training included in the POST-certified SIBC, and

iv. At least one year of out-of-state investigative or general law enforcement experience.
Experience must have been acquired subsequent to the completion of basic training and,
as determined by POST, commensurate with law enforcement duties of California
investigative agencies.

2. Basic Course Waiver Process

A Basic Course Waiver shall be determined through a four-step process: (1) Application/Self-
Assessment, Documentation, and Fee Requirements; (2) POST Training Evaluation; (3) Basic
Course Waiver Assessment; and (4) Waiver Issuance.

Step 1: Basic Course Waiver Application/Self-Assessment and Documentation and Fee
Requirements

a. Self-Assessment: Prior to submitting an application for a Basic Course Waiver, an individual
must conduct a self-assessment to verify successful completion of the requirements listed in
the applicable section above.

b. Documentation Requirements: The BCW Application, POST 2-267_(Rev. 10/2019), which is
hereby incorporated by reference, must be submitted together with the supporting training,
education, and experience documentation described below. The application form must be
signed by the individual and the department head, when appropriate. Each application must be
accompanied by the following supporting documentation:
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i. Basic Course: A certificate of completion and copy of the course curriculum that outlines
course content and hours that is consistent with the date of completion on the certificate.

ii. Other Training: Certificates of completion, training records, or similar documentation of
related training.

iii. Education: Official transcripts. One semester unit shall be equivalent to a maximum of 20
training hours and one quarter unit shall be equivalent to a maximum of 14 training hours.

iv. Experience: Written verification of experience shall be listed on agency letterhead from the
department head, training manager, or personnel department for which the applicant was
employed. The document must specifically state that the applicant completed at least one
year of general law enforcement following completion of basic training (or investigative
experience, if appropriate). The letter must be accompanied by a duty statement for the
position held by the applicant.

V. Fee: Certified check, er money order or electronic payment, payable to the Commission on
POST, in the amount specified on the Basic Course Waiver Application (POST 2-267)
(Rev. 8442045 10/2019).

Incomplete application packets will not be considered for review and will be returned to the applicant.
Step 2: POST Training Evaluation

Upon receipt of the completed BCW Application POST 2-267_(Rev. 84/2045 10/2019), all supporting
documents and the appropriate fee, POST will evaluate the individual's prior training, education and
experience.

Individuals will be notified if additional supporting documents are necessary and/or if application is
deficient in one or more areas. An individual shall have up to 180 days from date of notification to
provide additional verification without the payment of an additional evaluation fee. Failure to provide
the additional verification within that time period will result in closure of the application process. Once
closed, a new application (including training certification information) must be filed, subject to the
training standards, testing, and fee requirements in effect at the time of submission of the new
application.

The individual and the agency, when appropriate, will be notified of the results of the evaluation. If the
application is approved, the individual will be eligible to complete the BCW Assessment Process.

Step 3: Basic Course Waiver Assessment Process

a. Assessment Methods
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There are two methods by which the BCW assessment can be accomplished:

(1) Attendance and successful completion of a POST-certified Requalification Course; or

(2) Successful completion of the BCW Testing Process. The BCW Testing Process is only available
to individuals who have less than a three year break from the last date of service as a peace officer.
Once an assessment method is chosen, an individual may not switch to the other option. The BCW
assessment process must be successfully completed within one hundred eighty days of notification
by POST of approval of the evaluation.

Assessment Method 1: POST-Certified Requalification Course.

The one hundred thirty six hour Requalification Course must be taken through a qualified
presenter.

Course content and testing requirements can be found in the POST Training and Testing
Specifications.

Assessment Method 2: Basic Course Waiver Testing Process.

The testing process consists of the two components identical to the Requalification Course
examinations:

b. Retest

A comprehensive test designed to evaluate an individual's knowledge of basic course
content.

Exercise tests designed to evaluate an individual's manipulative skills acquired in the basic
course.

The testing process is to be administered through a POST Testing Center. Both
components are graded pass/fail and must be successfully completed.

A comprehensive retest shall be allowed one time only. Arrangements for the
comprehensive retest must be made directly with the same POST-certified Requalification
Course presenter or POST Testing Center at which the initial comprehensive test was
taken. Retesting must take place within ninety days of the initial test. An individual who fails
the retest must, before exercising peace officer powers, successfully complete the
appropriate POST-certified basic course.

Retest of one or more modules of the exercise shall be allowed one time only.
Arrangements for the skills retest must be made directly with the same POST-certified
Requalification Course presenter or POST Testing Center in which the skills examination
was originally taken. Retesting must take place within ninety days of the initial test. An
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individual who does not pass the failed module(s) of the skills retest must, before exercising
peace officer powers, successfully complete the appropriate POST-certified basic course
(RBC or SIBC).

iii. If the testing requirement is not met due to non-completion or failure of the initial test and
retest, the individual is no longer eligible for a waiver and will be required to complete the
appropriate POST-certified basic course.

Step 4: Issuance of Waiver/Waiver of Attendance

a. Upon successful completion of the waiver process, a Waiver of Attendance of the appropriate
POST-certified basic course will be granted by POST.

b. Acceptance of a waiver for meeting the appropriate Basic Course training standard shall be at
the discretion of the employing agency.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 832.1, 832.3, 832.6, 13503, 13506, 13510, 13510.3, 13510.5, 13515.26 and
13519.8, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 830.33, 832, 832.1, 832.3, 832.6, 13506, 13510, 13510.3, 13510.5,
13511, 13513, 13514, 13515.29, 13515.295, 13516, 13517, 13519.8, 13520 and 13523, Penal Code.





