
State of California
Office of Administrative Law

____ -- __ --L... _

Government Code Section 11349.3

In re:
Commission on Peace Officer Standards and
Training

NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF REGULATORY
ACTION

Regulatory Action:

Title 11, California Code of Regulations
OAL Matter Number: 2020-0522-03

Adopt sections:
Amend sections: 1015
Repeal sections: OAL Matter Type: Regular (S)

In this rulemaking action, the Commission amends its regulation to increase the
reimbursement rate for Basic Course Subsistence for the Regular Basic Course (RBC)
from $50 per day to $75 per day. The regulatory amendment also increased the number
of hours for reimbursement for the RBC from 664 hours to 800 hours.

OAL approves this regulatory action pursuant to section 11349.3 of the Government
Code. This regulatory action becomes effective on 1/1/2021.

Date: September 29,2020
Thanh Huynh
Senior Attorney

For: Kenneth J. Pogue
Director

Original: Manuel Alvarez, Jr., Executive
Director

Copy: Maria Sandoval



 
   

 
 

 
 

  

 
 

 
  

  
   

  
 
 

  
   

  
  

  
  
  

   
  

  
  

 
 

 

 
 

 
     

 
 

     
     

     
  

  

  
  

  
  

APPROVED TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATORY ACTION 
Commission Regulation 1015 Reimbursements for Training 

§ 1015. Reimbursements for Training 

(d) Reimbursement Rates. 
(1) Maximum reimbursement rates. 

(B) The maximum amounts reimbursed for approved expense categories are approved by the 
Commission. 
The maximum amounts reimbursed for approved expense categories are the following: 

Expense Reimbursement Rate 
Back-Fill Reimbursement 100% actual salary cost at overtime rate: time and one-half 
Basic Course Subsistence $50.00 per day $75.00 per day 
Commuter Lunch $8.00 per day 
Subsistence allowance - by location 
where expense occurred 

• All counties not shown below $128.00 per day 
• Alameda County $189.00 per day 
• Los Angeles County $156.00 per day 
• San Diego County $156.00 per day 
• San Francisco County $189.00 per day 
• San Mateo County $189.00 per day 
• Santa Clara County $189.00 per day 
Travel Go to: http://www.calhr.ca.gov/ employees/Pages/travel-

personal-vehicle.aspx 
for current mileage rate 

Tuition 100% 

(2) Courses with maximum reimbursement limitations 

(A) Subsistence, commuter lunch, and travel allowances will not be reimbursed for more than the 
maximum number of weeks (based on a minimum hourly requirement of 40 hours) authorized for 
the following courses: 

Weeks/Hours 
Regular Basic Course (Standard Format) 16.6 20 / 664 800 
Regular Basic Course (Modular Format, Intensive 
Presentation Only) 
Module III 3.2 3.9 /128 156 
Module II 4.4 5.3 /176 212 
Module I 9 10.8 /360 432 
Specialized Investigators' Basic Course 14.8 / 591 
District Attorney Investigator Transition Course 1 / 40 

Coroners' Death Investigation Course 2 / 80 
Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course 3 / 120 
Supervisory Course 2 / 80 
Advanced Officer Course 1 / 40 

http://www.calhr.ca.gov/%20employees/Pages/travel-personal-vehicle.aspx
http://www.calhr.ca.gov/%20employees/Pages/travel-personal-vehicle.aspx


 
 

  
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
  

  

Executive Development Course 2 / 80 
Management Course 2.6 / 104 
Management, Supervisory, Executive Seminars 1 / 40 

(3) Rates established annually or more frequently as determined by Commission. 
The Commission may annually, or more frequently as requested, and pursuant to the 
Administrative Procedure Act, establish the reimbursement rates for the categories of expenses 
approved for the reimbursement plans. 

(4) Notification of reimbursement rates. 
The Commission shall notify agencies participating in the POST Reimbursable Program and/or 
POST-approved training presenters of the modification of reimbursement rates within 60 days. 

….. 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 13503, 13506, 13510 and 13520, Penal Code. Reference: Sections 
13503, 13510, 13511, 13512, 13518, 13520, 13522, 13523, 13524 and 13525, Penal Code; 
Section 11489, Health and Safety Code; and Statutes 1997, Chapter 9, Section 2, (Senate Bill 
350). 


