Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course

The Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course is the entry-level training requirement for dispatchers employed by agencies participating in POST's public safety dispatcher program, as specified in Commission Regulation 1018. Information on presenters of the POST-certified Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course can be found in POST's Catalog of Certified Courses.

The Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course has a minimum hourly requirement of 120 hours, which is divided into 14 individual topics, called Learning Domains. The Learning Domains contain the minimum required foundational information for given subjects, which are detailed in the publication Training Specifications for the Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course (pdf).

Student Preparedness

The Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course introduces the necessary skills and knowledge to work in a law enforcement communications center in a productive and professional manner. The course also prepares each student for the basic roles, responsibilities, and duties of a public safety dispatcher within the law enforcement agency. The minimum training requirements for the Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course can be found in Commission Procedure D-1.

Please contact presenters of  Dispatcher, Public Safety (Basic) course for course schedule, tuition, and admission information.

Public Safety Dispatchers' Basic Course Curriculum

Content and Minimum Hourly Requirements 

Learning Domain Domain Description Minimum Hours
100 Professional Orientation and Ethics 8 hours
101 Criminal Justice System 4 hours
102 Introduction to Law 12 hours
103 Interpersonal Communication 4 hours
104 Telephone Technology and Procedures 12 hours
105 Missing Persons 4 hours
106 Domestic Violence 4 hours
107 Community Policing/Cultural Diversity/Hate Crimes/Gang Awareness 8 hours
108 Child, Elder and Dependent Adult Abuse 4 hours
109 Law Enforcement Telecommunications 8 hours
110 Radio Technology and Procedures 12 hours
111 Resources/Referral Services 2 hours
112 Critical Incidents 16 hours
113 Wellness Management 4 hours
  Minimum Domain Hours 102 hours
  Supporting Instructional/Activities - Exercises 18 hours
  Total Minimum Required Hours 120 hours

 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Home | Back to Top | Contact Us | Site Map | Accessibility | Terms & Conditions | Copyright © 2014 State of California    Best of California Award