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Date: August 22, 2006
Bulletin:  No. 2006-11
Subject: Increased Reimbursement Rates

At its July 20, 2006, meeting, the Commission increased the reimbursement rates for both Basic
Course subsistence and for regular subsistence. The reimbursement rate increases shown below
are effective for courses starting on, or after, October 1, 2006.

Reimbursement for Basic Course subsistence will be $50 per day statewide.

Reimbursement for all other subsistence will be $128 per day, except as listed below.
- Reimbursement will be $156 per day for lodging in Los Angeles and San Diego Counties.
- Reimbursement will be $189 per day for lodging in Alameda, San Francisco, San Mateo,
and Santa Clara Counties.

A budget change proposal (BCP) for Fiscal Year 2007-08 is necessary to continue these rate
increases and to increase other reimbursement rates. Therefore, POST will submit this BCP,
along with other Commission-approved budget change proposals, to the State Department of
Finance in September for consideration for the FY 2007-08 Governor’s Budget.

The attached, updated copy of Commission Procedure E-3, Reimbursement Rates, is also located
at http://www.post.ca.gov/requlations/doc/section e.doc#ReimbursementRates on the POST
website.

Questions regarding claims for reimbursement should be directed to the Reimbursement Unit at
916.227.3933. As always, please do not hesitate to call me at 916.227.2803 if you have any
guestions about the POST budget or any related issues.

KENNETH J. O'BRIEN
Executive Director

Attachment: Commission Procedure E-3, Reimbursement Rates

The mission of the California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training is to continually enhance
the professionalism of California law enforcement in serving its communities.


http://www.post.ca.gov/regulations/doc/section_e.doc#ReimbursementRates

POST Administrative Manual

Procedure E-3
Reimbursement Rates
Purpose
3-1. This procedure describes the reimbursement rates approved by the Commission.

3-2. Maximum Reimbursement Rates. The maximum amounts reimbursed for approved expense
categories are the following:

Expense Reimbursement Rate

Back-Fill Reimbursement 100% actual salary cost at overtime rate: time and one-half
Basic Course Subsistence $50.00 per day

Commuter Lunch $8.00 per day

Subsistence allowance - by location where expense occurred
All counties not shown below $128.00 per day

Alameda County $189.00 per day
Los Angeles County $156.00 per day
San Diego County $156.00 per day
San Francisco County $189.00 per day
San Mateo County $189.00 per day
Santa Clara County $189.00 per day
Travel $.26 per mile
Tuition 100% or as listed in POST Catalog of Certified Courses

3-3. Rates Established Annually. The Commission may annually establish the reimbursement rates for
the categories of expenses approved for the reimbursement plans. Reimbursement rates are in effect
for one fiscal year, July 1 to June 30, unless modified by Commission action.

3.4. Notification of Reimbursement Rate. The Commission will notify departments participating in
the POST Reimbursement Program of the effective rates for the next fiscal year, immediately
following the April Commission Meeting or no later than 60 days prior to the new fiscal year.

History:
Amended by the Commission on May 2001, July 1, 2001, January 1, 2002, February 1, 2002, June 1,
2002, June 30, 2002, and July 20, 2006.
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