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On November 4, 2014, the people of the state of California will vote on Proposition 47, “The 
Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Act” (Proposition 47).1 If enacted, Proposition 47 would 
become effective on November 5, 2014,2 and would have immediate and considerable 
implications for criminal courts. In short, the proposition would reclassify certain theft and drug 
                                                 
1 The complete text of Proposition 47 is attached.  Additional information about Proposition 47 may be found on the 
Secretary of State’s website at http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/ballot-measures/qualified-ballot-measures.htm.  
 
2 See California Constitution, Article 2, Section 10(a): “An initiative statute or referendum approved by a majority 
of votes thereon takes effect the day after the election unless the measure provides otherwise." 
 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/ballot-measures/qualified-ballot-measures.htm
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possession offenses as misdemeanors and authorize persons who would have been eligible for 
the new misdemeanor provisions to petition courts for resentencing and to apply for reductions 
of felony convictions to misdemeanors.   
 
The purpose of this memorandum is to provide an overview of the proposition and identify the 
most salient implications for criminal court proceedings. This memorandum is intended for 
informational purposes only and is not intended to advocate for or against Proposition 47. 
 
Overview 
Proposition 47 would add and amend various code sections to accomplish three broad changes to 
felony sentencing laws. First, the proposition would reclassify certain theft and drug possession 
offenses from felonies to misdemeanors. Notably, the new misdemeanor provisions would not be 
available to persons with one or more prior convictions for offenses specified under Penal Code 
section 667(e)(2)(C)(iv)3 or for a sex offense that requires registration under Penal Code section 
290(c).4 Instead, those defendants would remain subject to punishment under Penal Code section 
1170(h).  
 
Second, the proposition would authorize defendants currently serving sentences for felony 
offenses that would have qualified as misdemeanors under the proposition to petition courts for 
resentencing under the new misdemeanor provisions.  
 

                                                 
3 Penal Code section 667(e)(2)(c)(iv) states in full: “The defendant suffered a prior serious and/or violent felony 
conviction, as defined in subdivision (d) of this section, for any of the following felonies:  
(I) A ‘sexually violent offense’ as defined in subdivision (b) of Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions Code. 
(II) Oral copulation with a child who is under 14 years of age, and who is more than 10 years younger than he or she 
as defined by Section 288a, sodomy with another person who is under 14 years of age and more than 10 years 
younger than he or she as defined by section 286, or sexual penetration with another person who is under 14 years of 
age, and who is more than 10 years younger than he or she, as defined by Section 289. 
(III) A lewd or lascivious act involving a child under 14 years of age, in violation of Section 288. 
(IV) Any homicide offense, including any attempted homicide offense, defined in Sections 187 to 191.5, inclusive. 
(V) Solicitation to commit murder as defined in Section 653f. 
(VI) Assault with a machine gun on a peace officer or firefighter, as defined in paragraph (3) of subdivision (d) of 
Section 245. 
(VII) Possession of a weapon of mass destruction, as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 11418. 
(VIII) Any serious or violent felony offense punishable in California by life imprisonment or death.” 
 
4 Section 290(c) enumerates several sex offenses that mandate sex offender registration upon conviction. This 
disqualifier would appear to be limited to the offenses enumerated in that section, i.e., not to include persons 
required to register under other statutory provisions that vest courts with discretionary authority to impose sex 
offender registration under specified circumstances. (See, e.g., Pen. Code, § 290.006 [Authorizing courts to impose 
registration for any offenses not listed in section 290(c) “if the court finds at the time of conviction or sentencing 
that the person committed the offense as a result of sexual compulsion or for the purpose of sexual gratification”].) 
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Third, the proposition would authorize defendants who have completed their sentences for felony 
convictions that would have qualified as misdemeanors under the proposition to apply to reduce 
those convictions to misdemeanors.5  
 
Each major change is summarized below.  
 
Reclassification of Theft and Drug Possession Offenses 
 
Theft Offenses 
Proposition 47 would create new misdemeanors and modify the classification of several felony 
offenses involving theft as follows: 
 

• Shoplifting. The proposition would add Penal Code section 459a to create a new 
misdemeanor offense called “shoplifting,” punishable by up to 6 months in county jail. 
Shoplifting would be defined as “entering a commercial establishment with intent to 
commit larceny while that establishment is open during regular business hours” where 
the value of the property does not exceed $950. Any other entry into a commercial 
establishment with intent to commit larceny would be burglary. Any act of shoplifting as 
defined above must be charged as shoplifting. No person charged with shoplifting may 
also be charged with burglary or theft of the same property. 

 
• Forgery. Under current law, forgery under Penal Code section 473 is a wobbler offense. 

Proposition 47 would reclassify forgery of specified instruments6 involving an amount 
that does not exceed $950 as exclusively a misdemeanor. The misdemeanor provision, 
however, would not be applicable to any person convicted both of forgery and identity 
theft under Penal Code section 530.5. 
 

• Insufficient Funds. Under current law, a violation of Penal Code section 476a is a 
wobbler offense, except that the offense is strictly a misdemeanor if the total underlying 

                                                 
5 In addition, the proposition would create the “Safe Neighborhood and Schools Fund.” (See Gov. Code, §§ 7599 et 
seq.) Savings accrued to the state from the implementation of Proposition 47 would be transferred to the fund from 
the General Fund on a yearly basis for distribution to the State Department of Education, the California Victim 
Compensation and Government Claims Board, and the Board of State and Community Corrections for specified 
purposes. 
6 The instruments would be “a check, bond, bank bill, note, cashier’s check, traveler’s check, or money order.” To 
qualify as a felony, the proposition appears to require a value over $950 per forged instrument as opposed to a total 
value with multiple instruments combined, as specified, for example, under Penal Code section 476a(b): “If the total 
amount of all checks, drafts, or orders that the defendant is charged with and convicted of making, drawing, or 
uttering does not exceed nine hundred fifty dollars ($950), the offense is punishable only by imprisonment in the 
county jail…”].) (Emphasis added.) 
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amount does not exceed $450, unless the person was previously convicted of one of 
several specified theft offenses.7 Proposition 47 would increase the total threshold 
amount for misdemeanors from $450 to $950 and increase the number of disqualifying 
prior convictions from one to “three or more.” 
 

• Petty Theft. Proposition 47 would add Penal Code section 490.2 to expressly define petty 
theft as “obtaining any property by theft where the value of the money, labor, real or 
personal property taken” does not exceed $950. Under the proposition, this new 
definition of petty theft would apply notwithstanding Section 487 “or any other 
provision of law defining grand theft.” (Pen. Code, § 490.2(a).) As such, the new 
definition of petty theft appears designed to apply regardless of how specific categories 
of property are treated under separate statutes.8 This new provision would not be 
applicable to any theft that may be charged as an infraction “pursuant to any other 
provision of law.” 
 

• Receiving Stolen Property. Under current law, a violation of Penal Code section 496 is a 
wobbler offense, except that if the value of the property does not exceed $950, the 
district attorney or grand jury may specify the offense as exclusively a misdemeanor “in 
the interests of justice.” Proposition 47 would render all violations of section 496 that do 
not exceed $950 as strictly misdemeanors, eliminating prosecutorial discretion to charge 
those offenses as felonies. 
 

• Petty Theft with a Prior. For most defendants, Proposition 47 would eliminate the 
offense of petty theft with a prior under Penal Code section 666 by narrowing the 
category of persons subject to punishment under that section to only include persons 
required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act,9 persons with prior violent 
or serious felony convictions under section 667.5(e)(2)(C)(iv), and persons convicted of 
Penal Code section 368(d) or (e) [specified theft crimes involving elder or dependent 
adults].  

 
 

                                                 
7 The disqualifying prior violations are “… Section 470, 475, or 476, or of this section, or of the crime of petty theft 
in a case in which defendant’s offense was a violation also of Section 470, 475, or 476 or of this section…” (Pen. 
Code, § 476a(b).) 
8 Penal Code section 487(b)(1)(A), for example, characterizes theft of certain farm crops valuing over $250 as 
“grand theft.” Under the proposition’s new definition of petty theft, however, such offenses would appear to be 
misdemeanors if not valued over $950. 
9 Unlike other references to sex offender registration throughout Proposition 47 (see footnote 3), this reference 
appears to include all persons required to register, regardless of whether the basis for registration was Penal Code 
section 290(c) or some other provision under the Sex Offender Registration Act. 
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Drug Possession Offenses 
Proposition 47 would reclassify drug possession offenses under Health and Safety Code sections 
11350, 11357(a) [concentrated cannabis], and 11377 as strictly misdemeanors punishable by up 
to one year in county jail. As with the theft offenses, these new misdemeanor provisions would 
not apply to persons with one or more prior convictions for offenses specified under Penal Code 
section 667(e)(2)(C)(iv) or for a sex offense that requires registration under Penal Code section 
290(c). 
 
Resentencing 
 
Eligibility 
Proposition 47 would add Penal Code section 1170.1810 to authorize persons currently serving 
sentences for felony convictions that would be misdemeanors under the proposition to petition 
courts for recalls of sentences and to request resentencing under the new laws (§ 1170.18(a)), 
except that persons with one or more prior convictions for offenses listed under section 
667(e)(2)(C)(iv)11 or for a sex offense that requires registration under section 290(c)12 are not 
eligible for resentencing. (§ 1170.18(i).)  
 
Although the drafters of the proposition appear to have contemplated that application of the 
resentencing provisions would be limited to persons serving prison sentences,13 the plain 
language of the phrase “person currently serving a sentence” appears to apply equally to persons 
serving terms of imprisonment in county jail under section 1170(h), which may include persons 
on mandatory supervision. Uncertainties will likely arise about whether other forms of 
supervision constitute “serving” the sentence for purposes of the resentencing provisions.14 
 
 
 
 

                                                 
10 All further statutory references are to the Penal Code. 
11 See footnote 2 for the full text of section 667(e)(2)(C)(iv).  
12 See footnote 3 for discussion of section 290(c). 
13 See, e.g., section 1170.18(d), which requires courts to impose a period of parole upon all persons currently 
serving sentences who are resentenced under the proposition (unless the court “releases the person from parole”), 
despite apparent eligibility of felony offenders currently serving non-prison sentences, for example, terms of 
imprisonment in county jail under section 1170(h). 
14 It is unclear, for example, whether persons on parole and postrelease community supervision will be considered to 
have completed their sentences or considered “currently serving a sentence” for purposes of eligibility for 
resentencing (under section 1170.18(a)) or reduction of the conviction to a misdemeanor (under section 1170.18(f)). 
In addition, although terms of probation are commonly considered “sentences” in the criminal context, probation is 
statutorily defined as the suspension of the imposition or execution of a sentence. (Pen. Code, § 1203(a).)  
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Petitions 
Petitions for resentencing must be filed within three years after the effective date of the new laws 
“or at a later date upon a showing of good cause.”15 (§ 1170.18(j).) Petitions must be filed with 
the trial court that entered the original judgment unless that judge is unavailable, in which case 
the presiding judge must designate another judge to rule on the petition. (§ 1170.18(a), (l).)16 
 
Resentencing Considerations 
If the court determines that the petitioner is eligible for resentencing, the court must recall the 
sentence and resentence the petitioner under the new misdemeanor provisions “unless the court, 
in its discretion, determines that resentencing the petitioner would pose an unreasonable risk of 
danger to public safety.” (§ 1170.18(b).)  
 
The phrase “unreasonable risk of danger to public safety” would be defined narrowly as an 
unreasonable risk that the petitioner will commit a new violent felony within the meaning of 
section 667(e)(2)(C)(iv). (§ 1170.18(c).) Notably, the proposition would extend the new 
definition to all uses of the phrase throughout the Penal Code. (§ 1170.18(c).)17  
 
In determining the risk to public safety, the court may consider: 

 
• The petitioner’s criminal conviction history, including the type of crimes committed, the 

extent of injury to victims, the length of prior prison commitments, and the remoteness of 
the crimes; 
 

• The petitioner’s disciplinary record and record of rehabilitation while incarcerated; and 
 

• Any other evidence the court, within its discretion, determines to be relevant in deciding 
whether a new sentence would result in an unreasonable risk of danger to public safety. 

 
Persons who are resentenced must be given credit for time served and are subject to a period of 
parole for one year under section 3000.08 “unless the court, in its discretion, as part of its 
resentencing order, releases the person from parole.” (§ 1170.18(d).) As noted above, because 

                                                 
15 The proposition does not provide any guidance regarding what circumstances would constitute “good cause.” 
16 The proposition does not include guidance regarding what constitutes “unavailable.” Note, however, that under 
the comparable resentencing provisions of Proposition 36 (The Three Strikes Reform Act of 2012), the defendant 
may waive the right for the resentencing petition to be considered by a particular judge, but the waiver should be 
obtained before any “judicial decisionmaking.” (People v. Kaulick (2013) 215 Cal.App.4th 1279, 1300–1301.) 
17 See section below for implications of this definition on resentencing proceedings under Proposition 36, the Three 
Strikes Reform Act of 2012. 
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application of the resentencing provisions appears to extend beyond just to persons in prison, 
courts would presumably not impose periods of parole in certain instances.  
 
Under no circumstances may resentencing result in the imposition of a term that is longer than 
the original sentence. (§ 1170.18(e).) A resentencing hearing would be considered a “post-
conviction release proceeding” under Article I, Section 28(b)(7) of the California Constitution 
(Marsy’s Law).18 
 
Reducing Convictions  
Proposition 47 would also authorize persons who have completed their sentences for felony 
offenses that would have qualified as misdemeanors under the new laws to apply for a reduction 
of their felony conviction to a misdemeanor. (§ 1170.18(f).) Persons with one or more prior 
convictions for offenses listed under section 667(e)(2)(C)(iv) or for a sex offense that requires 
registration under section 290(c) are not eligible for the reductions. (§ 1170.18(i).)  
 
As with the resentencing provisions explained above, applications must be made with the trial 
court that entered the original judgment unless that judge is unavailable, in which case the 
presiding judge must designate another judge to rule on the petition. (§ 1170.18(f), (l).) All 
applications must be filed within three years of the effective date of the new laws “or at a later 
date upon a showing of good cause.” (§ 1170.18(j).)  
 
If the court determines that the person is eligible for reduction, the court must designate the 
felony offense as a misdemeanor. (§ 1170.18(g).) Unlike the resentencing provisions under 
section 1170.18(a), reductions to misdemeanors do not hinge on considerations of an 
“unreasonable risk of danger to public safety.” Presumably, a person denied resentencing while 
currently serving a sentence may still apply for reduction once the sentence is deemed served.  
 
Unless requested by the applicant, no hearing would be necessary to grant or deny an 
application. (§ 1170.18(f).) 
 
Any felony conviction that would be resentenced or designated as a misdemeanor “shall be 
considered a misdemeanor for all purposes, except that such resentencing shall not permit that 
person to own, possess, or have in his or her custody or control any firearm or prevent his or her 

                                                 
18 Article I, section 28(b)(7) entitles crime victims to “reasonable notice of all public proceedings, including 
delinquency proceedings, upon request, at which the defendant and the prosecutor are entitled to be present and of 
all parole or other post-conviction release proceedings, and to be present at all such proceedings.” Section 28(b)(8) 
additionally entitles victims to “be heard, upon request, at any proceeding, including any delinquency proceeding, 
involving a post-arrest release decision, plea, sentencing, post-conviction release decision, or any proceeding in 
which a right of the victim is at issue.” 
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conviction under Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 29800) of Division 9 of Title 4 of Part 6.” 
(§ 1170.18(k).) 
 
Implications for Delinquency Proceedings 
The extent of the application of Proposition 47 to juvenile offenders is uncertain. The changes 
included in the proposition related to sentencing for new crimes likely apply equally to adults 
and minors since the maximum time of confinement for a minor cannot exceed that of an adult 
offender. (Welf. & Inst. Code, § 726(d).) As to the right of resentencing, the answer is not clear 
and may be resolved through appellate review. The Judicial Council’s Center for Families 
Children & Courts will continue to research issues related to adjudication, disposition, and 
modification of prior court orders and will provide information and resources to the courts if 
implementation becomes necessary. 
 
Implications for Resentencing Proceedings under Proposition 36  
Under Proposition 36, the Three Strikes Reform Act of 2012, certain third strike offenders are 
eligible to petition for resentencing as a second striker. (§ 1170.126(a).) Assuming the petitioner 
is eligible, the court must resentence the petitioner “unless the court, in its discretion, determines 
that resentencing the petitioner would pose an unreasonable risk of danger to public safety.” (§ 
1170.126(f); emphasis added). This is the same consideration courts would perform during 
resentencing under Proposition 47, which also prescribes the same set of criteria for 
consideration. (§ 1170.128(g).) 
 
Unlike Proposition 36, however, Proposition 47 narrowly defines the phrase “unreasonable risk 
of danger to public safety” as “an unreasonable risk that the petitioner will commit a new violent 
felony within the meaning of section 667(e)(2)(C)(iv).” As noted above, Proposition 47 would 
apply this new definition of the phrase “unreasonable risk of danger to public safety” as used 
throughout the Penal Code (§ 1170.18(c)), including the identical provisions under Proposition 
36. As such, Proposition 47 may be interpreted to significantly expand the category of petitioners 
eligible for resentencing under Proposition 36, limiting ineligibility to only those petitioners 
deemed at risk to commit crimes enumerated under section 667(e)(2)(C)(iv). The implications of 
the new definition would likely raise uncertainties for all pending and past Proposition 36 
petitions.  
 
In addition, some petitioners resentenced as second strikers under Proposition 36 may now be 
eligible to petition for resentencing to a misdemeanor under Proposition 47. 
 
Conclusion   
As a practical matter, Proposition 47 raises considerable implementation challenges for courts, 
and the precise legal effect of many of the proposition’s procedural provisions will likely require 
further clarification by reviewing courts or the adoption of new laws by the Legislature. In the 
meantime, Criminal Justice Services will collaborate with representatives of the Trial Court 
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Presiding Judges and Court Executives Advisory Committees to explore ways to assist courts 
with implementation efforts. Additional information will be provided as it becomes available. 
 
For questions or comments related to adult criminal cases, please contact Arturo Castro at 
Arturo.Castro@jud.ca.gov. For questions or comments related to juvenile matters, please contact 
Audrey Fancy at Audrey.Fancy@jud.ca.gov.  
 
Attachment 
The full text of Proposition 47 is attached.  
 
 
SC/AC/AF/bjw 
Attachment 
 
cc: Martin Hoshino, Administrative Director 
 Curtis Child, Chief Operating Officer 
 Deborah Brown, Chief Counsel 
 Diane Nunn, Director, Center for Families, Children, and the Courts 
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THE SAFE NEIGHBORHOODS AND SCHOOLS ACT 
 
SECTION ONE.  Title. 
 

This Act shall be known as “the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Act.” 
 
SECTION TWO.  Findings and Declarations. 
 

The people of the State of California find and declare as follows: 
 
 The People enact the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Act to ensure that prison 
spending is focused on violent and serious offenses, maximize alternatives for non-
serious, nonviolent crime, and invest the savings generated from this Act into prevention 
and support programs in K-12 schools, victim services, and mental health and drug 
treatment.  This Act ensures that sentences for people convicted of dangerous crimes like 
rape, murder, and child molestation are not changed. 
 
SECTION THREE.  Purpose and Intent. 
 

In enacting this Act, it is the purpose and intent of the people of the State of 
California to: 
 

(1) Ensure that people convicted of murder, rape, and child molestation will not 
benefit from this Act. 
 

(2) Create the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund with 25% of the funds to be 
provided to the Department of Education for crime prevention and support 
programs in K-12 schools, 10% of the funds for trauma recovery services for 
crime victims, and 65% of the funds for mental health and substance abuse 
treatment programs to reduce recidivism of people in the justice system. 

 
(3) Require misdemeanors instead of felonies for non-serious, nonviolent crimes like 

petty theft and drug possession, unless the defendant has prior convictions for 
specified violent or serious crimes. 

 
(4) Authorize consideration of resentencing for anyone who is currently serving a 

sentence for any of the offenses listed herein that are now misdemeanors. 
 

(5) Require a thorough review of criminal history and risk assessment of any 
individuals before resentencing to ensure that they do not pose a risk to public 
safety. 

 
(6) This measure will save significant state corrections dollars on an annual basis. 
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Preliminary estimates range from $150 million to $250 million per year.  This 
measure will increase investments in programs that reduce crime and improve 
public safety, such as prevention programs in K-12 schools, victim services, and 
mental health and drug treatment, which will reduce future expenditures for 
corrections. 
 

SECTION FOUR. 
 
Chapter 33 (commencing with Section 7599) is added to Division 7 of Title 1 of the 
Government Code, to read: 
 
Chapter 33.  Creation of Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund 
 
7599.  (a) A fund to be known as the “Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund” is hereby 
created within the State Treasury and, notwithstanding Government Code section 13340, 
is continuously appropriated without regard for fiscal year for carrying out the purposes 
of this chapter. 
 
(b) For purposes of the calculations required by Section 8 of Article XVI of the 
California Constitution, funds transferred to the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund 
shall be considered General Fund revenues which may be appropriated pursuant to 
Article XIII B. 
 
7599.1.  Funding Appropriation 
 
(a) On or before July 31, 2016, and on or before July 31 of each fiscal year thereafter, the 
Director of Finance shall calculate the savings that accrued to the state from the 
implementation of this Act during the fiscal year ending June 30, as compared to the 
fiscal year preceding the enactment of this Act.  In making the calculation required by 
this subdivision, the Director of Finance shall use actual data or best available estimates 
where actual data is not available.  The calculation shall be final and shall not be adjusted 
for any subsequent changes in the underlying data.  The Director of Finance shall certify 
the results of the calculation to the Controller no later than August 1 of each fiscal year. 
 
(b) Before August 15, 2016, and before August 15 of each fiscal year thereafter, the 
Controller shall transfer from the General Fund to the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools 
Fund the total amount calculated pursuant to subdivision (a). 
 
(c) Monies in the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund shall be continuously 
appropriated for the purposes of this Act.  Funds transferred to the Safe Neighborhoods 
and Schools Fund shall be used exclusively for the purposes of this Act and shall not be 
subject to appropriation or transfer by the Legislature for any other purpose.  The funds in 
the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund may be used without regard to fiscal year.   
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7599.2.  Distribution of Monies from the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund 
 
(a) By August 15 of each fiscal year beginning in 2016, the Controller shall disburse 
monies deposited in the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund as follows:  
 
(1) 25 percent to the State Department of Education, to administer a grant program to 
public agencies aimed at improving outcomes for public school pupils in kindergarten 
through 12th grade by reducing truancy and/or supporting students who are at-risk of 
dropping out of school or are victims of crime.   
 
(2) 10 percent to the Victim Compensation and Government Claims Board, to make 
grants to trauma recovery centers to provide services to victims of crime pursuant to 
Government Code section 13963.1. 
 
(3) 65 percent to the Board of State and Community Corrections, to administer a grant 
program to public agencies aimed at supporting mental health treatment, substance abuse 
treatment, and diversion programs for people in the criminal justice system, with an 
emphasis on programs that reduce recidivism of people convicted of less serious crimes, 
such as those covered by this measure, and those who have substance abuse and mental 
health problems. 
 
(b) For each program set forth in paragraphs (1) through (3) above, the agency 
responsible for administering the programs shall not spend more than five percent of the 
total funds it receives from the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund on an annual basis 
for administrative costs. 
 
(c) Every two years, the Controller shall conduct an audit of the grant programs operated 
by the agencies specified in paragraphs (1) through (3) to ensure the funds are disbursed 
and expended solely according to this chapter and shall report his or her findings to the 
Legislature and the public. 
 
(d) Any costs incurred by the Controller and the Director of Finance in connection with 
the administration of the Safe Neighborhoods and Schools Fund, including the costs of 
the calculation required by section 7599.1 and the audit required by subsection (c), as 
determined by the Director of Finance, shall be deducted from the Safe Neighborhoods 
and Schools Fund before the funds are disbursed pursuant to subsection (a). 
 
(e) The funding established pursuant to this Act shall be used to expand programs for 
public school pupils in kindergarten through 12th grade, victims of crime, and mental 
health and substance abuse treatment and diversion programs for people in the criminal 
justice system.  These funds shall not be used to supplant existing state or local funds 
utilized for these purposes.  
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(f) Local agencies shall not be obligated to provide programs or levels of service 
described in this chapter above the level for which funding has been provided. 
 
SECTION FIVE.  
 
Section 459a is added to the Penal Code, to read: 
 
459a.  (a) Notwithstanding Section 459, shoplifting is defined as entering a commercial 
establishment with intent to commit larceny while that establishment is open during 
regular business hours, where the value of the property that is taken or intended to be 
taken does not exceed nine hundred fifty dollars ($950).  Any other entry into a 
commercial establishment with intent to commit larceny is burglary.  Shoplifting shall be 
punished as a misdemeanor, except that a person with one or more prior convictions for 
an offense specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) 
of Section 667 or for an offense requiring registration pursuant to subdivision (c) of 
Section 290 may be punished pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170. 
 
(b) Any act of shoplifting as defined in subdivision (a) shall be charged as shoplifting.  
No person who is charged with shoplifting may also be charged with burglary or theft of 
the same property. 
 
SECTION SIX. 
 
Section 473 of the Penal Code is hereby amended to read: 
 
473.  (a) Forgery is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one 
year, or by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170. 
 
(b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), any person who is guilty of forgery relating to a 
check, bond, bank bill, note, cashier’s check, traveler’s check, or money order, where the 
value of the check, bond, bank bill, note, cashier’s check, traveler’s check, or money 
order does not exceed nine hundred fifty dollars ($950), shall be punishable by 
imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, except that such person may 
instead be punished pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 if that person has one or 
more prior convictions for an offense specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 667 or for an offense requiring registration 
pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 290.  This subdivision shall not be applicable to 
any person who is convicted both of forgery and of identity theft, as defined in Section 
530.5. 
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SECTION SEVEN. 
 
Section 476a of the Penal Code is hereby amended to read: 
 
476a.  (a) Any person who, for himself or herself, as the agent or representative of 
another, or as an officer of a corporation, willfully, with intent to defraud, makes or 
draws or utters or delivers a check, draft, or order upon a bank or depositary, a person, a 
firm, or a corporation, for the payment of money, knowing at the time of that making, 
drawing, uttering, or delivering that the maker or drawer or the corporation has not 
sufficient funds in, or credit with the bank or depositary, person, firm, or corporation, for 
the payment of that check, draft, or order and all other checks, drafts, or orders upon 
funds then outstanding, in full upon its presentation, although no express representation is 
made with reference thereto, is punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more 
than one year, or pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170. 
 
(b) However, if the total amount of all checks, drafts, or orders that the defendant is 
charged with and convicted of making, drawing, or uttering does not exceed four hundred 
fifty dollars ($450) nine hundred fifty dollars ($950), the offense is punishable only by 
imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year, except that such person may 
instead be punished pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 if that person has one or 
more prior convictions for an offense specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 667 or for an offense requiring registration 
pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 290.  This subdivision shall not be applicable if the 
defendant has previously been convicted of a three or more violations of Section 470, 
475, or 476, or of this section, or of the crime of petty theft in a case in which defendant’s 
offense was a violation also of Section 470, 475, or 476 or of this section or if the 
defendant has previously been convicted of any offense under the laws of any other state 
or of the United States which, if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a 
violation of Section 470, 475 or 476 or of this section or if he has been so convicted of 
the crime of petty theft in a case in which, if defendant’s offense had been committed in 
this state, it would have been a violation also of Section 470, 475, or 476, or of this 
section. 
 
(c) Where the check, draft, or order is protested on the ground of insufficiency of funds or 
credit, the notice of protest shall be admissible as proof of presentation, nonpayment, and 
protest and shall be presumptive evidence of knowledge of insufficiency of funds or 
credit with the bank or depositary, person, firm, or corporation. 
 
(d) In any prosecution under this section involving two or more checks, drafts, or orders, 
it shall constitute prima facie evidence of the identity of the drawer of a check, draft, or 
order if both of the following occur: 
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(1) When the payee accepts the check, draft, or order from the drawer, he or she obtains 
from the drawer the following information:  name and residence of the drawer, business 
or mailing address, either a valid driver’s license number or Department of Motor 
Vehicles identification card number, and the drawer’s home or work phone number or 
place of employment.  That information may be recorded on the check, draft, or order 
itself or may be retained on file by the payee and referred to on the check, draft, or order 
by identifying number or other similar means. 
 
(2) The person receiving the check, draft, or order witnesses the drawer’s signature or 
endorsement, and, as evidence of that, initials the check, draft, or order at the time of 
receipt. 
 
(e) The word “credit” as used herein shall be construed to mean an arrangement or 
understanding with the bank or depositary, person, firm, or corporation for the payment 
of a check, draft, or order. 
 
(f) If any of the preceding paragraphs, or parts thereof, shall be found unconstitutional or 
invalid, the remainder of this section shall not thereby be invalidated, but shall remain in 
full force and effect. 
 
(g) A sheriff’s department, police department, or other law enforcement agency may 
collect a fee from the defendant for investigation, collection, and processing of 
checks referred to their agency for investigation of alleged violations of this section or 
Section 476. 
 
(h) The amount of the fee shall not exceed twenty-five dollars ($25) for each bad check, 
in addition to the amount of any bank charges incurred by the victim as a result of the 
alleged offense.  If the sheriff’s department, police department, or other law enforcement 
agency collects a fee for bank charges incurred by the victim pursuant to this section, that 
fee shall be paid to the victim for any bank fees the victim may have been assessed.  In no 
event shall reimbursement of the bank charge to the victim pursuant to this section 
exceed ten dollars ($10) per check. 
 
SECTION EIGHT. 
 
Section 490.2 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 
 
490.2.  (a) Notwithstanding Section 487 or any other provision of law defining grand 
theft, obtaining any property by theft where the value of the money, labor, real or 
personal property taken does not exceed nine hundred fifty dollars ($950), shall be 
considered petty theft and shall be punished as a misdemeanor, except that such person 
may instead be punished pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 if that person has 
one or more prior convictions for an offense specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) 
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of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 667 or for an offense requiring registration 
pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 290. 
 
(b) This section shall not be applicable to any theft that may be charged as an infraction 
pursuant to any other provision of law. 
 
SECTION NINE. 
 
Section 496 of the Penal Code is hereby amended to read: 
 
496.  (a) Every person who buys or receives any property that has been stolen or that has 
been obtained in any manner constituting theft or extortion, knowing the property to be 
so stolen or obtained, or who conceals, sells, withholds, or aids in concealing, selling, or 
withholding any property from the owner, knowing the property to be so stolen or 
obtained, shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, 
or imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170.  However, if the district 
attorney or the grand jury determines that this action would be in the interests of justice, 
the district attorney or the grand jury, as the case may be, may, if the value of the 
property does not exceed nine hundred fifty dollars ($950), specify in the accusatory 
pleading that the offense shall be a misdemeanor, punishable only by imprisonment in a 
county jail not exceeding one year, if such person has no prior convictions for an offense 
specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of 
Section 667 or for an offense requiring registration pursuant to subdivision (c) of 
Section 290. 
 
A principal in the actual theft of the property may be convicted pursuant to this section.  
However, no person may be convicted both pursuant to this section and of the theft of the 
same property. 
 
(b) Every swap meet vendor, as defined in Section 21661 of the Business and Professions 
Code, and every person whose principal business is dealing in, or collecting, merchandise 
or personal property, and every agent, employee, or representative of that person, who 
buys or receives any property of a value in excess of nine hundred fifty dollars ($950) 
that has been stolen or obtained in any manner constituting theft or extortion, under 
circumstances that should cause the person, agent, employee, or representative to make 
reasonable inquiry to ascertain that the person from whom the property was bought or 
received had the legal right to sell or deliver it, without making a reasonable inquiry, 
shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, or 
imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170. 
 
Every swap meet vendor, as defined in Section 21661 of the Business and Professions 
Code, and every person whose principal business is dealing in, or collecting, merchandise 
or personal property, and every agent, employee, or representative of that person, who 
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buys or receives any property of a value of nine hundred fifty dollars ($950) or less that 
has been stolen or obtained in any manner constituting theft or extortion, under 
circumstances that should cause the person, agent, employee, or representative to make 
reasonable inquiry to ascertain that the person from whom the property was bought or 
received had the legal right to sell or deliver it, without making a reasonable inquiry, 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 
(c) Any person who has been injured by a violation of subdivision (a) or (b) may bring an 
action for three times the amount of actual damages, if any, sustained by the plaintiff, 
costs of suit, and reasonable attorney’s fees. 
 
(d) Notwithstanding Section 664, any attempt to commit any act prohibited by this 
section, except an offense specified in the accusatory pleading as a misdemeanor, is 
punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, or by 
imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170. 
 
SECTION TEN.   
 
Section 666 of the Penal Code is hereby amended to read: 
 
666.  (a) Notwithstanding Section 490, every person who, having been convicted three or 
more times of petty theft, grand theft, a conviction pursuant to subdivision (d) or (e) of 
Section 368, auto theft under Section 10851 of the Vehicle Code, burglary, carjacking, 
robbery, or a felony violation of Section 496 and having served a term therefor in any 
penal institution or having been imprisoned therein as a condition of probation for that 
offense, and who is subsequently convicted of petty theft, is punishable by imprisonment 
in a county jail not exceeding one year, or imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of 
Section 1170. 
 
(b)(a) Notwithstanding Section 490, any person described in subdivision (b) 
paragraph (1) who, having been convicted of petty theft, grand theft, a conviction 
pursuant to subdivision (d) or (e) of Section 368, auto theft under Section 10851 of the 
Vehicle Code, burglary, carjacking, robbery, or a felony violation of Section 496, and 
having served a term of imprisonment therefor in any penal institution or having been 
imprisoned therein as a condition of probation for that offense, and who is subsequently 
convicted of petty theft, is punishable by imprisonment in the county jail not exceeding 
one year, or in the state prison. 
 
(1)(b) This s Subdivision (a) shall apply to any person who is required to register 
pursuant to the Sex Offender Registration Act, or who has a prior violent or serious 
felony conviction, as specified in subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 or subdivision (c) of 
Section 1192.7 clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of 
Section 667, or has a conviction pursuant to subdivision (d) or (e) of Section 368. 
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(2)(c) This subdivision section shall not be construed to preclude prosecution or 
punishment pursuant to subdivisions (b) to (i), inclusive, of Section 667, or 
Section 1170.12. 
 
SECTION ELEVEN.  
 
Section 11350 of the Health and Safety Code is hereby amended to read: 
 
11350.  (a) Except as otherwise provided in this division, every person who possesses 
(1) any controlled substance specified in subdivision (b), or (c), (e), or paragraph (1) of 
subdivision (f) of Section 11054, specified in paragraph (14), (15), or (20) of 
subdivision (d) of Section 11054, or specified in subdivision (b) or (c) of Section 11055, 
or specified in subdivision (h) of Section 11056, or (2) any controlled substance classified 
in Schedule III, IV, or V which is a narcotic drug, unless upon the written prescription of 
a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian licensed to practice in this state, shall be 
punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, except that such 
person shall instead be punished pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 of the Penal 
Code if that person has one or more prior convictions for an offense specified in 
clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 667 of the 
Penal Code or for an offense requiring registration pursuant to subdivision (c) of 
Section 290 of the Penal Code. 
 
(b) Except as otherwise provided in this division, every person who possesses any 
controlled substance specified in subdivision (e) of Section 11054 shall be punished by 
imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year or pursuant to subdivision (h) of 
Section 1170 of the Penal Code. 
 
(c) (b) Except as otherwise provided in this division, whenever a person who possesses 
any of the controlled substances specified in subdivision (a) or (b), the judge may, in 
addition to any punishment provided for pursuant to subdivision (a) or (b), assess against 
that person a fine not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) with proceeds of this fine to be used 
in accordance with Section 1463.23 of the Penal Code.  The court shall, however, take 
into consideration the defendant’s ability to pay, and no defendant shall be denied 
probation because of his or her inability to pay the fine permitted under this subdivision. 
 
(d) (c) Except in unusual cases in which it would not serve the interest of justice to do so, 
whenever a court grants probation pursuant to a felony conviction under this section, in 
addition to any other conditions of probation which may be imposed, the following 
conditions of probation shall be ordered: 
 
(1) For a first offense under this section, a fine of at least one thousand dollars ($1,000) 
or community service. 
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(2) For a second or subsequent offense under this section, a fine of at least two thousand 
dollars ($2,000) or community service. 
 
(3) If a defendant does not have the ability to pay the minimum fines specified in 
paragraphs (1) and (2), community service shall be ordered in lieu of the fine. 
 
SECTION TWELVE. 
 
Section 11357 of the Health and Safety Code is hereby amended to read: 
 
11357.  (a) Except as authorized by law, every person who possesses any concentrated 
cannabis shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for a period of not more 
than one year or by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by both such 
fine and imprisonment, or shall be punished by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) 
of Section 1170 of the Penal Code except that such person may instead be punished 
pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 of the Penal Code if that person has one or 
more prior convictions for an offense specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of Section 667 of the Penal Code or for an offense 
requiring registration pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 290 of the Penal Code. 
 
(b) Except as authorized by law, every person who possesses not more than 28.5 grams of 
marijuana, other than concentrated cannabis, is guilty of an infraction punishable by a 
fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100). 
 
(c) Except as authorized by law, every person who possesses more than 28.5 grams of 
marijuana, other than concentrated cannabis, shall be punished by imprisonment in a 
county jail for a period of not more than six months or by a fine of not more than five 
hundred dollars ($500), or by both such fine and imprisonment. 
 
(d) Except as authorized by law, every person 18 years of age or over who possesses not 
more than 28.5 grams of marijuana, other than concentrated cannabis, upon the grounds 
of, or within, any school providing instruction in kindergarten or any of grades 
1 through 12 during hours the school is open for classes or school-related programs is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine of not more than five hundred 
dollars ($500), or by imprisonment in a county jail for a period of not more than 10 days, 
or both. 
 
(e) Except as authorized by law, every person under the age of 18 who possesses not 
more than 28.5 grams of marijuana, other than concentrated cannabis, upon the grounds 
of, or within, any school providing instruction in kindergarten or any of grades 1 
through 12 during hours the school is open for classes or school-related programs is 
guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be subject to the following dispositions: 
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(1) A fine of not more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), upon a finding that a first 
offense has been committed. 
 
(2) A fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or commitment to a juvenile hall, 
ranch, camp, forestry camp, or secure juvenile home for a period of not more than 
10 days, or both, upon a finding that a second or subsequent offense has been committed. 
 
SECTION THIRTEEN. 
 
Section 11377 of the Health and Safety Code is hereby amended to read: 
 
11377.  (a) Except as authorized by law and as otherwise provided in subdivision (b) or 
Section 11375, or in Article 7 (commencing with Section 4211) of Chapter 9 of 
Division 2 of the Business and Professions Code, every person who possesses any 
controlled substance which is (1) classified in Schedule III, IV, or V, and which is not a 
narcotic drug, (2) specified in subdivision (d) of Section 11054, except paragraphs (13), 
(14), (15), and (20) of subdivision (d), (3) specified in paragraph (11) of subdivision (c) 
of Section 11056, (4) specified in paragraph (2) or (3) of subdivision (f) of 
Section 11054, or (5) specified in subdivision (d), (e), or (f) of Section 11055, unless 
upon the prescription of a physician, dentist, podiatrist, or veterinarian, licensed to 
practice in this state, shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for a period of 
not more than one year or pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 of the Penal Code, 
except that such person may instead be punished pursuant to subdivision (h) of 
Section 1170 of the Penal Code if that person has one or more prior convictions for an 
offense specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of 
Section 667 of the Penal Code or for an offense requiring registration pursuant to 
subdivision (c) of Section 290 of the Penal Code.   
 
(b)(1) Any person who violates subdivision (a) by unlawfully possessing a controlled 
substance specified in subdivision (f) of Section 11056, and who has not previously been 
convicted of a violation involving a controlled substance specified in subdivision (f) of 
Section 11056, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 
(2) Any person who violates subdivision (a) by unlawfully possessing a controlled 
substance specified in subdivision (g) of Section 11056 is guilty of a misdemeanor. 
 
(3) Any person who violates subdivision (a) by unlawfully possessing a controlled 
substance specified in paragraph (7) or (8) of subdivision (d) of Section 11055 is guilty of 
a misdemeanor. 
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(4) Any person who violates subdivision (a) by unlawfully possessing a controlled 
substance specified in paragraph (8) of subdivision (f) of Section 11057 is guilty of a 
misdemeanor. 
 
(c)(b) In addition to any fine assessed under subdivision (b), tThe judge may assess a fine 
not to exceed seventy dollars ($70) against any person who violates subdivision (a), with 
the proceeds of this fine to be used in accordance with Section 1463.23 of the Penal 
Code.  The court shall, however, take into consideration the defendant’s ability to pay, 
and no defendant shall be denied probation because of his or her inability to pay the fine 
permitted under this subdivision. 
 
SECTION FOURTEEN. 
 
Section 1170.18 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 
 
1170.18.  (a) A person currently serving a sentence for a conviction, whether by trial or 
plea, of a felony or felonies who would have been guilty of a misdemeanor under this Act 
had this Act been in effect at the time of the offense may petition for a recall of sentence 
before the trial court that entered the judgment of conviction in his or her case to request 
resentencing in accordance with Sections 11350, 11357, or 11377 of the Health and 
Safety Code, or Sections 459a, 473, 476a, 490.2, 496, or 666 of the Penal Code, as those 
sections have been amended by this Act. 
 
(b) Upon receiving a petition under subdivision (a), the court shall determine whether the 
petitioner satisfies the criteria in subdivision (a).  If the petitioner satisfies the criteria in 
subdivision (a), the petitioner’s felony sentence shall be recalled and the petitioner 
resentenced to a misdemeanor pursuant to Sections 11350, 11357, or 11377 of the Health 
and Safety Code, or Sections 459a, 473, 476a, 490.2, 496, or 666 of the Penal Code, as 
those sections have been amended by this Act, unless the court, in its discretion, 
determines that resentencing the petitioner would pose an unreasonable risk of danger to 
public safety.  In exercising its discretion, the court may consider: 
 
(1) The petitioner’s criminal conviction history, including the type of crimes committed, 
the extent of injury to victims, the length of prior prison commitments, and the 
remoteness of the crimes; 
 
(2) The petitioner’s disciplinary record and record of rehabilitation while incarcerated; 
and 
 
(3) Any other evidence the court, within its discretion, determines to be relevant in 
deciding whether a new sentence would result in an unreasonable risk of danger to public 
safety. 
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(c) As used throughout this Code, “unreasonable risk of danger to public safety” means 
an unreasonable risk that the petitioner will commit a new violent felony within the 
meaning of clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of 
Section 667. 
 
(d) A person who is resentenced pursuant to subdivision (b) shall be given credit for time 
served and shall be subject to parole for one year following completion of his or her 
sentence, unless the court, in its discretion, as part of its resentencing order, releases the 
person from parole.  Such person is subject to Section 3000.08 parole supervision by the 
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation and the jurisdiction of the court in the 
county in which the parolee is released, resides, or in which an alleged violation of 
supervision has occurred, for the purpose of hearing petitions to revoke parole and 
impose a term of custody. 
 
(e) Under no circumstances may resentencing under this section result in the imposition 
of a term longer than the original sentence. 
 
(f) A person who has completed his or her sentence for a conviction, whether by trial or 
plea, of a felony or felonies who would have been guilty of a misdemeanor under this Act 
had this Act been in effect at the time of the offense may file an application before the 
trial court that entered the judgment of conviction in his or her case to have the felony 
conviction or convictions designated as misdemeanors. 
 
(g) If the application satisfies the criteria in subdivision (f), the court shall designate the 
felony offense or offenses as a misdemeanor. 
 
(h) Unless requested by the applicant, no hearing is necessary to grant or deny an 
application filed under subsection (f). 
 
(i) The provisions of this section shall not apply to persons who have one or more prior 
convictions for an offense specified in clause (iv) of subparagraph (C) of paragraph (2) of 
subdivision (e) of Section 667 or for an offense requiring registration pursuant to 
subdivision (c) of Section 290. 
 
(j) Any petition or application under this section must be filed within three years after the 
effective date of the Act that added this section or at a later date upon a showing of good 
cause. 
 
(k) Any felony conviction that is recalled and resentenced under subsection (b) or 
designated as a misdemeanor under subsection (g) shall be considered a misdemeanor for 
all purposes, except that such resentencing shall not permit that person to own, possess, 
or have in his or her custody or control any firearm or prevent his or her conviction under 
Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 29800) of Division 9 of Title 4 of Part 6. 
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(l) If the court that originally sentenced the petitioner is not available, the presiding judge 
shall designate another judge to rule on the petition or application. 
 
(m) Nothing in this section is intended to diminish or abrogate any rights or remedies 
otherwise available to the petitioner or applicant. 
 
(n) Nothing in this and related sections is intended to diminish or abrogate the finality of 
judgments in any case not falling within the purview of this Act. 
 
(o) A resentencing hearing ordered under this Act shall constitute a “post-conviction 
release proceeding” under paragraph (7) of subdivision (b) of Section 28 of Article I of 
the California Constitution (Marsy’s Law). 
 
SECTION FIFTEEN.  Amendment. 
 

This Act shall be broadly construed to accomplish its purposes.  The provisions of 
this measure may be amended by a two-thirds vote of the members of each house of the 
Legislature and signed by the Governor so long as such amendments are consistent with 
and further the intent of this Act.  The Legislature may by majority vote amend, add, or 
repeal provisions to further reduce the penalties for any of the offenses addressed by this 
Act. 

 
SECTION SIXTEEN.  Severability. 
 

If any provision of this measure, or part of this measure, or the application of any 
provision or part to any person or circumstances, is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remaining provisions, or applications of provisions, shall not be affected, but shall remain 
in full force and effect, and to this end the provisions of this measure are severable. 
 
SECTION SEVENTEEN.  Conflicting Initiatives. 
 

(a) This Act changes the penalties associated with certain non-serious, nonviolent 
crimes.  In the event that this measure and another initiative measure or measures relating 
to the same subject appear on the same statewide election ballot, the provisions of the 
other measure or measures shall be deemed to be in conflict with this measure.  In the 
event that this measure receives a greater number of affirmative votes, the provisions of 
this measure shall prevail in their entirety, and the provisions of the other measure shall 
be null and void.  However, in the event that this measure and another measure or 
measures containing provisions that eliminate penalties for the possession of concentrated 
cannabis are approved at the same election, the voters intend such provisions relating to 
concentrated cannabis in the other measure or measures to prevail, regardless of which 
measure receives a greater number of affirmative votes.  The voters also intend to give 
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full force and effect to all other applications and provisions of this measure, and such 
other measure or measures, but only to the extent such other measure or measures are not 
inconsistent with the provisions of this Act. 

 
(b) If this measure is approved by voters but superseded by law by any other 

conflicting measure approved by voters at the same election, and the conflicting ballot 
measure is later held invalid, this measure shall be self-executing and given full force and 
effect. 

 
SECTION EIGHTEEN.  Liberal Construction. 
 
 This Act shall be liberally construed to effectuate its purposes. 
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