The O.J. "Bud" Hawkins Exceptional Service Award

Award Winners - View all Bud Hawkins Award Recipients

About the Award

Excellence in service and setting high standards is the foundation upon which the California Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) stands. Attaining excellence on a continuous basis is the result of many dedicated staff, subject matter experts, the POST Advisory Committee and POST Commission members. This annual award recognizes all these individuals but, most particularly, those who have demonstrated sustained effort over time. These few individuals have made a difference and a lasting contribution. Their creativity, perseverance, and dedication to improve the California law enforcement profession is recognized with this “Exceptional Service” award.

Annually, the Commission may bestow this award upon one or more individuals and record their names on a perpetual award at POST. Recipients receive this award at the June Commission meeting. To preserve the “Exceptional Service” nature of this award, the Commission reserves the prerogative of not issuing the award in any given year.

The Inspiration

Bud Hawkins Award

The O.J. “Bud” Hawkins Exceptional Service Award is dedicated to the memory of Bud Hawkins, a long-time representative to the POST Commission for the Attorney General. The nominees for this award can be a member of POST staff, a volunteer subject matter expert, a POST Advisory Committee member, or a POST Commission member who has made significant contributions that reflect dedication, perseverance, and exceptional service to improving the professionalism of California law enforcement.

Bud Hawkins is the inspiration for this award because of his sustained contributions to California law enforcement covering six decades. Commissioner Hawkins left a legacy of contributions including the California CLETS System, advisor to 11 Attorneys Generals, and six years as the Attorney General’s representative to the POST Commission. His collaborative and constructive approach for solving problems and leading law enforcement groups set an example for all.

Selection Criteria

Selection Criteria

The selection criteria focus on an individual’s contributions, legacy, dedication, and exceptional service.

  1. Contributions - The individual shall have made a significant contribution or contributions in furtherance of POST’s mission and goals.
  2. Legacy - The contribution(s) shall have made a sustained impact upon POST and California law enforcement.
  3. Dedication - There shall be evidence of individual dedication, perseverance, overcoming obstacles, or collaborative efforts with the law enforcement and/or training community.
  4. Exceptional Service - There shall be evidence that these contributions represent “Exceptional Service.”


Any POST staff member, subject matter expert, POST Advisory Committee member, or POST Commission member may nominate, or be nominated, provided they are currently in this status or were so within the previous year to their nomination.

Review Process

The POST Advisory Committee is responsible for reviewing all nominations and making a recommendation to the Commission at its March meeting. The Commission selects the awardee(s) at the March meeting and presents the awardee(s) with this award at the June Commission meeting.

Nomination Application Process

The nomination period for the 2023 O.J. "Bud" Hawkins Exceptional Service Award is now open. All nominations must be postmarked by Monday December 4, 2023. POST will return nominations postmarked after this date to the nominator.

The 2023 award recipient will be announced at the March 7, 2024 POST Commission Meeting. The winner will be honored at a special ceremony at the POST Commission Meeting on June 6, 2024 at 10:00 a.m.

Questions regarding the O.J. “Bud” Hawkins Exceptional Service Award may be directed to Assistant Executive Director Jim Grottkau.

Instructions for Making a Nomination

Below are instructions for submitting a nominee(s) for the O.J. “Bud” Hawkins Exceptional Services Award:

  1. Review the Selection Criteria and Eligibility to ensure that your nominee meets all qualifications and requirements. All nominations will be reviewed by the Awards Panel.
  2. All nominations must be submitted on the Nomination Form for the O.J. “Bud” Hawkins Exceptional Service Award (doc).
  3. After completing the form, a printed copy must be signed by the bureau chief/department head/CEO or designee of the nominating organization and then mailed or delivered to POST. (Nominations submitted in any other format will be returned without consideration.)
  4. The narrative justification of 1,000 words or less (excluding supporting documentation) in Section 3 must be completed to be considered for an award.
  5. Supporting documents must be listed in Section 4 with a brief description and must be included with the application. (Supporting documents will not be returned.)
  6. Applications submitted without the narrative, supporting documents, or appropriate signature will be returned without consideration.
  7. Applications must be postmarked no later than December 4, 2023. Any application postmarked after this date will not be considered.
  8. Any returned applications may be resubmitted with appropriate corrections prior to the deadline.
  9. Please do not submit applications in a bound format.
  10. Sent completed applications to:

Hawkins Award Screening Committee
c/o California POST Executive Office
860 Stillwater Road, Suite 100
West Sacramento, CA 95605-1630

Or email completed applications to :