Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course Waiver Process
Completion of the Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course Waiver process is an option for meeting California's Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course training requirement for out-of-state or federal criminal investigator applicants. The Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course is the training requirement for welfare fraud investigators or inspectors, and designated state and county criminal investigators identified in the Penal Code. Each application is evaluated on a case-by-case basis.
The SIBCW process is a four-step process for evaluating prior law enforcement training and testing knowledge and skill levels. These steps must be completed in the order shown. Fees are charged for Steps 2 and 3.
Questions regarding the Specialized Basic Course Waiver (SIBCW) process may be directed to Senior Law Enforcement Consultant Julie Gorwood at (916) 227-3915.
Step 1: Application/Self-Assessment
The application/self-assessment must include verification of successful completion of each of the following:
- at least a 200-hour general law enforcement basic course,
- at least 591 hours of investigative or general law enforcement training (including basic course),
- the legislatively mandated training subjects and hours included in the Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course, as identified in the self-assessment worksheet.
- Experience must have been acquired subsequent to the completion of basic training and, as determined by POST, commensurate with law enforcement duties of California investigative agencies.
- No Fee
Step 2: POST Training Evaluation
The applicant's self-assessment and supporting documents are evaluated by CA POST to determine if the investigative or general law enforcement training and experience requirements have been met, as outlined in Step 1.
- Pay SIBCW evaluation fee $250.00, payable by electronic payment, certified check or money order. To pay by electronic payment, you must first create a PASS account. After payment is completed, mail application and supporting documents to POST.
- Upon receipt of the completed BCW Application, all supporting documents and the appropriate fee, POST will evaluate the individual's prior training, education and experience. Individuals will be notified if additional supporting documents are necessary and/or if application is deficient in one or more areas. An individual shall have up to 180 days from date of notification to provide additional verification without the payment of an additional evaluation fee. Failure to provide the additional verification within that time period will result in closure of the application process. Once closed, a new application (including training certification information) must be filed, subject to the training standards, testing, and fee requirements in effect at the time of submission of the new application.
- The individual and the agency, when appropriate, will be notified of the results of the evaluation. If the application is approved, the individual will be eligible to complete the BCW Assessment Process.
Step 3: Basic Course Waiver (BCW) Assessment Process
There are two methods by which the BCW assessment can be accomplished:
- Attendance and successful completion of a POST-certified 160-hour Requalification Course; or
- Successful completion of the BCW Testing Process which is only available to individuals who meet the criteria outlined in Regulation 1005(C).
Fees vary by presenter
A list of available Requalification Courses can be located in the POST Course Catalog.
Step 4: Waiver Issuance
The waiver letter granted by POST waives the required completion of a California POST-certified Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course and is valid for three years.
To start the Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course Waiver process, please complete the Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course Waiver Application (3-353) (pdf).