Basic Course Waiver
Completion of the Basic Course Waiver process is an option for meeting California's Regular Basic Course training requirement for out-of-state applicants. The Regular Basic Course is the training requirement for POST-program city police officers, sheriff's deputies, marshals, district attorney investigators, campus police officers, park police, Level I reserve peace officers and a few miscellaneous peace officer positions identified in the California Penal Code.
There are two types of Basic Course Waivers.
- Regular Basic Course Waiver
- Specialized Investigators’ Basic Course Waiver
An individual must successfully complete the entire Basic Course Waiver (BCW) process to obtain a waiver. Agency sponsorship is not required to participate in the BCW process. Acceptance of a waiver for meeting the Regular Basic Course training standard is at the discretion of the employing agency.
Questions regarding the BCW process or application or the Specialized Basic Course Waiver (SIBC) process may be directed to Senior Law Enforcement Consultant Julie Gorwood at (916) 227-3915.
Regular Basic Course Waiver Process
The BCW is a four-step process for evaluating prior law enforcement training and testing knowledge and skill levels. These steps must be completed in the order shown. Fees are charged for Steps 2 and 3
Step 1: Application/Self-Assessment
The application/self-assessment must include verification of successful completion of each of the following:
- at least a 200-hour general law enforcement basic course,
- at least 664 hours of general law enforcement training (including basic course),
- the legislatively mandated training subjects included in the Regular Basic Course
- at least one year of general law enforcement experience
- No Fee
Step 2: POST Training Evaluation
The applicant's self-assessment and supporting documents are evaluated to determine if the general law enforcement training and experience requirements have been met, as outlined in Step 1.
- As of January 1, 2020, the fee increased to $250.00 and is payable by electronic payment, certified check or money order.
- To pay by electronic payment, you must create a PASS account. After payment is completed, mail application and supporting documents to POST.
Step 3: Basic Course Waiver (BCW) Assessment Process
The BCW assessment is accomplished by attendance and successful completion of a POST-certified Requalification Course. All BCW applicants are required to attend the course unless they meet the test only criteria listed below.
As of April 1, 2020, the BCW testing option at State Center Regional Training Facility will no longer be an BCW assessment option unless the individual meets the following criteria:
1. Entering California law enforcement with qualifying out of state or federal law enforcement experience, and
2. Will be appointed at middle management or executive rank and will function at the second level of supervision or above, and
3. Have less than a three-year break from the last date of service as a peace officer, and
4. Submits a letter from the prospective hiring agency, signed by the agency head, that includes the intent to hire the applicant at middle management or executive rank, and a description of the intended job classification and duty assignment.
The BCW Testing Process includes both comprehensive and exercise components. The comprehensive component consists of a multiple-choice test that measures knowledge of the Regular Basic Course curriculum. The exercise component consists of an assessment of critical skills, such as firearms and arrest and control.
A list of available Requalification Courses can be located in the POST Course Catalog.
Step 4: Waiver Issuance
The waiver letter granted by POST waives the required completion of a California POST-certified Regular Basic Course and is valid for three years.
To start the Basic Course Waiver process, please complete the Regular Basic Course Waiver Application (2-267) (pdf).